In the 113th Congress, nearly 250 lawmakers from both sides of the aisle demonstrated their opposition to a tax on local radio stations by cosponsoring the Local Radio Freedom Act. Click here to see a list of free, local radio supporters from the last Congress.

These champions of radio recognize the promotional value of free radio airplay and the important role stations play in their local communities, delivering important news, emergency information and programming that listeners rely on each day.

In February of 2015, the resolution was introduced again in the House of Representatives by Reps. Michael Conaway (TX-11) and Gene Green (TX-29). Sens. John Barrasso (WY) and Heidi Heitkamp (ND) introduced the resolution in the Senate in March. You can view the list of current cosponsors below. If your member of Congress is not on this list, ask him or her to cosponsor and stand up for free, local radio!

Click the Twitter icon next to your legislator's name to thank him or her for supporting local radio!

Cosponsors of H. Con. Res. 17, the Local Radio Freedom Act

Introduced by:
Rep. Michael Conaway (TX-11)
Rep. Gene Green (TX‑29) 

Rep. Ralph Abraham (LA-5)
Rep. Rick Allen (GA-12)
Rep. Lou Barletta (PA-11)
Rep. Joe Barton (TX-6)
Rep. Joyce Beatty (OH-3)
Rep. Dan Benishek (MI-1)
Rep. Gus Bilirakis (FL-12)
Rep. Sanford Bishop Jr. (GA-2)
Rep. Rod Blum (IA-1)
Rep. Charles W. Boustany, Jr. (LA-3)
Rep. Jim Bridenstine (OK-1)
Rep. Mo Brooks (AL-5)
Rep. Corrine Brown (FL-5)
Rep. Vern Buchanan (FL-16)
Rep. Ken Buck (CO-4)
Rep. Larry Bucshon (IN-8)
Rep. Cheri Bustos (IL-7)
Rep. G.K. Butterfield (NC-1)
Rep. Bradley Byrne (AL-1)
Rep. Ken Calvert (CA-42)
Rep. Michael Capuano (MA-7)
Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-1)
Rep. Wm. Lacy Clay (MO-1)
Rep. Mike Coffman (CO-6)
Rep. Tom Cole (OK-4)
Rep. Chris Collins (NY-27)
Rep. Paul Cook (CA-8)
Rep. Joe Courtney (CT-2)
Rep. Kevin Cramer (ND-At Large)
Rep. Rick Crawford (AR-1)
Rep. Ander Crenshaw (FL-4)
Rep. Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
Rep. John Abney Culberson (TX-7)
Rep. Rodney Davis (IL-13)
Rep. Peter DeFazio (OR-4)
Rep. Charles Dent (PA-15)
Rep. Sean Duffy (WI-7)
Rep. Jeff Duncan (SC-3)
Rep. John Duncan Jr. (TN-2)
Rep. Renee Ellmers (NC-2)
Rep. Blake Farenthold (TX-27)
Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick (PA-8)
Rep. John Fleming (LA-4)
Rep. Bill Flores (TX-17)
Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (NE-1)
Rep. Virginia Foxx (NC-5)
Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ-11)
Rep. Bob Gibbs (OH-7)
Rep. Christopher Gibson (NY-19)
Rep. Paul Gosar (AZ-4)
Rep. Trey Gowdy (SC-4)
Rep. Kay Granger (TX-12)
Rep. Sam Graves (MO-6)
Rep. Glenn Grothman (WI-6)
Rep. Frank C. Guinta (NH-1)
Rep. Richard Hanna (NY-22)
Rep. Gregg Harper (MS-3)
Rep. Andy Harris (MD-01)
Rep. Vicky Hartzler (MO-4)
Rep. Alcee Hastings (FL-20)
Rep. Joseph Heck (NV-3)
Rep. Jody Hice (GA-10)
Rep. Ruben Hinojosa (TX-15)
Rep. Richard Hudson (NC-8)
Rep. Tim Huelskamp (KS-1)
Rep. Randy Hultgren (IL-14)
Rep. Will Hurd (TX-23)
Rep. Robert Hurt (VA-5)
Rep. Evan H. Jenkins (WV-3)
Rep. Lynn Jenkins (KS-2)
Rep. Bill Johnson (OH-6)
Rep. David Jolly (FL-13)
Rep. Jim Jordan (OH-4)
Rep. David Joyce (OH-14)
Rep. Marcy Kaptur (OH-9)
Rep. William Keating (MA-9)
Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-6)
Rep. Ron Kind (WI-3)
Rep. Adam Kinzinger (IL-16)
Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-1)
Rep. John Kline (MN-2)
Rep. Ann Kuster (NH-2)
Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-1)
Rep. Doug Lamborn (CO-5)
Rep. Leonard Lance (NJ-7)
Rep. Robert Latta (OH-5)
Rep. Frank LoBiondo (NJ-2)
Rep. David Loebsack (IA-2)
Rep. Billy Long (MO-7)
Rep. Frank Lucas (OK-3)
Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-3)
Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1)
Rep. Cynthia Lummis (WY-At Large)
Rep. Stephen Lynch (MA-8)
Rep. Kenny Marchant (TX-24)
Rep. Thomas Massie (KY-4)
Rep. David McKinley (WV-1)
Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-5)
Rep. Mark Meadows (NC-11)
Rep. Luke Messer (IN-6)
Rep. Candice Miller (MI-10)
Rep. Markwayne Mullin (OK-2)
Rep. Mick Mulvaney (SC-5)
Rep. Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)
Rep. Kristi Noem (SD-At Large)
Rep. Devin Nunes (CA-22)
Rep. Pete Olson (TX-22)
Rep. Beto O'Rourke (TX-16)
Rep. Steven Palazzo (MS-4)
Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr. (NJ-9)
Rep. Stevan Pearce (NM-2)
Rep. Pedro R. Pierluisi (PR)
Rep. Robert Pittenger (NC-9)
Rep. Joseph R. Pitts (PA-16)
Rep. Ted Poe (TX-2)
Rep. Mike Pompeo (KS-4)
Rep. Bill Posey (FL-8)
Rep. Charles Rangel (NY-13)
Rep. James Renacci (OH-16)
Rep. Reid J. Ribble (WI-8)
Rep. Tom Rice (SC-7)
Rep. Scott Rigell (VA-2)
Rep. Hal Rogers (KY-5)
Rep. Mike Rogers (AL-3)
Rep. Todd Rokita (IN-4)
Rep. Peter Roskam (IL-6)
Rep. Dennis Ross (FL-15)
Rep. Edward R. Royce (CA-39)
Rep. Paul Ryan (WI-1)
Rep. Tim Ryan (OH-13)
Rep. Matt Salmon (AZ-5)
Rep. John Sarbanes (MD-3)
Rep. John Shimkus (IL-15)
Rep. Kurt Schrader (OR-5)
Rep. David Schweikert (AZ-6)
Rep. Austin Scott (GA-8)
Rep. David Scott (GA-13)
Rep. Pete Sessions (TX-32)
Rep. Michael Simpson (ID-2)
Rep. Albio Sires (NJ-8)
Rep. Adrian Smith (NE-3)
Rep. Christopher H. Smith (NJ-4)
Rep. Jason Smith (MO-8)
Rep. Steve Stivers (OH-15)
Rep. Glenn Thompson (PA-5)
Rep. Patrick Tiberi (OH-12)
Rep. Scott R. Tipton (CO-3)
Rep. Michael Turner (OH-10)
Rep. Fred Upton (MI-6)
Rep. Marc Veasey (TX-33)
Rep. Peter Visclosky (IN-1)
Rep. Ann Wagner (MO-2)
Rep. Tim Walberg (MI-7)
Rep. Greg Walden (OR-2)
Rep. Jackie Walorski (IN-2)
Rep. Timothy J. Walz (MN-1)
Rep. Brad Wenstrup (OH-2)
Rep. Bruce Westerman (AR-4)
Rep. Lynn Westmoreland (GA-3)
Rep. Ed Whitfield (KY-1)
Rep. Roger Williams (TX-25)
Rep. Frederica Wilson (FL-24)
Rep. Joe Wilson (SC-2)
Rep. Robert J. Wittman (VA-1)
Rep. Steve Womack (AR-3)
Rep. Kevin Yoder (KS-3)
Rep. Don Young (AK-At Large)
Rep. Ryan Zinke (MT)

Cosponsors of S. Con. Res. 4, the Local Radio Freedom Act

Introduced by:
Sen. John Barrasso (WY)
Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (ND)

Sen. John Boozman (AR)
Sen. Richard Burr (NC)
Sen. Bill Cassidy (LA)
Sen. Tom Cotton (AR)
Sen. Michael Enzi (WY)
Sen. Martin Heinrich (NM)
Sen. James Inhofe (OK)
Sen. Jerry Moran (KS)
Sen. Pat Roberts (KS)
Sen. Tom Udall (NM)
Sen. David Vitter (LA)

Cosponsor list current as of April 14, 2015. Source:


Sign up to join the thousands of radio and music fans who are standing strong against the big record labels' efforts to impose a tax on America's local radio stations.

Please enter your email address below to join the effort.

Follow the Issue
Twitter Facebook


U.S. House of Representatives offering statements on the vital role of broadcasters.

Rep. Gus Bilirakis (FL)

Rep. Hansen Clarke (MI)

Rep. Billy Long (MO)

Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (NY)

Rep. Ted Poe (TX)

Rep. Laura Richardson (CA)

Rep. David Scott (GA)

Rep. Joe Wilson (SC)

Rep. Todd Young (IN)